Profiles – Fact or Fiction?

What does your Profile say about you?  All those Tabs – does anyone read them?

From a 2008 Profile

I’m definitely a Profile fanatic!  It’s rare that I’m chatting with anyone without  having read their Profile first.  Whether it’s an old friend or a first time chat, I’m all over the Profile!  While hanging out at a busy venue, my favorite past time is reading them all.  I even have a tag that says “Reading Your Profile.”  I enjoy the reading and seeing the photos (often, amazing shots!).  I love when a Profile intentionally paints a good portrait of how the avi spends their time.

I was especially slow to grasp the information and possible fun within a Profile.  Even slower still to grasp how my own Profile could reflect on me.   Longer still to finally grasp the purpose of each tab.   My first two years were probably spent in Profile naivete (with the exception of the Profiles of Creators, for tracking down stores).

Profile in 2007

Starting with the first page – the first glance at you!  Most avis seem to give a fair amount of thought to the photo here.  I see professional portraits, candid snapshots and Photoshop creations.

Beneath that, Groups.  Do you show all of yours…or are you hiding some secrets here?  🙂  (I definitely hide some!)  This can tell a lot about the avi… Are they in to live music?  Fashions? A dozen free sex groups?  Are most of them in a language different than yours?  Is their rez day in 2007, but not a single group showing?  While not foolproof – you can learn a few things with Group info.

Then, the “About” section… this is where most people write a bit about their SL goals (to have drama free fun), loves (the most wonderful partner in RL/SL…EVER!), and friends (don’t fuck with my friends or I’ll mess you up bad!)…and usually a chance to reiterate the No Drama zone.  It’s common to see a list of things not accepted…no random TPs, no random Friendship offerings, etc.  Ohhh, I almost forgot, (cuz they’re so boring)…you might also find some famous quotes – that have already been used a zillion times!

...2009

As an avid Profile reader, I know I’m a minority.  Based on the questions I’m asked, most avis that write me definitely have NOT read my Profile.  This makes me question putting my “rules” in my Profile…why write all these guidelines, if the people who need to read them probably aren’t Profile readers?  I think that the people who actually read Profiles either enjoy reading them as much as I do…or are searching for info regarding merchandise in my store.  As a result, my Profile tries to stay up beat and positive.

The “Web” tab is next….this is usually blank, but sometimes has links to favorite video clips, blogs or online sales.  I put my SLMarketplace link there – but confess to often not reading this tab when perving your Profile!

On to the “Interests” tab…”IF” people bother to fill this out at all – I think they do it once, in the beginning, and then forget all about it.  I remember not filling mine out for a long time, thinking that checking one of those boxes would put me on a list, or group, and obligate me to participate somehow… lol.  I get a kick out of finding a creative answer in the little boxes!

…and then the multi-purpose, multi-faceted “Picks” tab!!  So much info can be found here!  You can do like I did for my first year, and use it instead of LMs, for finding your favorite, hard to remember, locations.  (I was LM challenged for the first year…I didn’t know how to take them, find them, use them – thank God for friends willing to TP me!)  My first picks were for Bits and Bobs and a few other places that sold adult animations…. tsk tsk!  Some Picks contain favorite shopping locations, frequented clubs, best places to explore or your gro0vey home!   I get a big RL grin when I discover a juicier Picks tab, with details about your friends, your rules of engagement, photos of you and your sweetheart, details of why you are a dom/sub expert (oops, Dom),  poetry, quotes from your friends, PHOTOS ..or at the very least, WHY you selected those locations – rather than just leaving the location owner’s Search Keywords there.

Like evaluating Groups, Picks can be insightful too!

Then, the lonesome “Classified” tab – used only by people advertising.

Lastly, the scary, often empty, “Real Life” tab!  It was months before I understood it wasn’t some other game/activity, I thought it was something similar Second Life!  lol, I can be soooo slow!  I posted a photo of some other woman on my RL tab for a long time!  (that is definitely another story!)  I’ve seen RL photos that I’m fairly sure are authentic, some that I’m sure are not!  Of course some prefer to keep that private – and post nothing, or a shot of their avi.  Then, space for a few words….more often than not, stating that RL and SL are separate!  (why is it that those avis are often the first to ask me my RL A/S/L?)

If I had more time and creativity, I’d update my Profile more often.  As it stands now, it’s accurate and I think informative, surely too self centered, and probably full of so many details that there’s nothing left for me to talk about!  I don’t mind sharing my RL A/S/L and photo.  (All this Profile talk has been regarding SL – my IWz Profile Perving hasn’t progressed much, yet)

My time spent Profile Perving has been informative and helpful to me, as well as a source of amusement.  I can also confess to a case or two of Profile Stalking!  Watching the Profile of an Ex as they move on to their next interest(s), can be painfully addictive!

How could I have forgotten to mention the Rez day and Partner spots?  Rez date isn’t as helpful as it once was – as many people recreate and/or have alts.  A young but well groomed avi is probably not brand new.  Partner info can be helpful, for obvious reasons!

I feel let down when I open a Profile for the first time and it says something to the effect…”Want to know more?  Just ask!”  …Gee, it’s nice you’re willing to share (if I ask), but how do I know it’s even worth our time to do that?

Profiles….I look forward to reading yours!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dancerglimmer.wordpress.com/2011/01/06/profiles-fact-or-fiction/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

